THE JOURNAL RECORD

Oklahoma Bar Association to induct new officers

1/15/15

Nine new members of the Oklahoma Bar Association Board of Governors will be sworn in at 10:30 a.m. Friday at the Supreme Court Ceremonial Courtroom at the state Capitol.

Norman attorney David A. Poarch Jr. will be sworn in as president.

He practices with the firm of Bailey and Poarch in Norman, where he is engaged in real estate, probate and estate planning and a variety of litigated matters. He served as the assistant dean for external affairs at the University of Oklahoma College of Law from 1997 to 2011. He graduated from the OU College of Law in 1977.

Poarch said his goal for the OBA in 2015 is continued commitment to several ongoing OBA projects.

"We plan to expand our programs that educate and promote a broader public understanding of the separation of powers between the judicial, legislative and executive branches," Poarch said. "This will include sustained efforts to preserve and defend the independence of judges against pressures brought about by the politics of the moment."

The OBA will also continue its Oklahoma Lawyers for America's Heroes program offering free legal advice for qualifying military service members and veterans. More than \$2.5 million in legal services has been donated by volunteer Oklahoma lawyers.

Garvin Isaacs Jr. of Oklahoma City will take the oath to serve as president-elect. Glenn Devoll of Enid will be sworn in as vice president.

As president-elect, Isaacs will become OBA president on Jan. 1, 2016. He has been involved in general civil and criminal trial practice since 1978. His practice areas include negligence, wrongful death, nursing home injuries, medical malpractice, products liability against automobile manufacturers, bad-faith insurance law, water pollution, oil and gas pipeline fraud and racial discrimination. He was admitted to the Oklahoma Bar in 1974.

Devoll is a shareholder and director with Gungoll, Jackson, Box & Devoll. He practices in the areas of oil and gas, corporate, banking and commercial transaction law. He graduated from the Oklahoma City University School of Law in 1977.

Oklahoma Bar Association Board of Governors members to be sworn in for three-year terms representing their judicial districts are James R. Gotwals of Tulsa, Roy D. Tucker of Muskogee and John

Weedn of Miami. Sonja R. Porter of Oklahoma City will be sworn in to a three-year term as member-atlarge.

Renée DeMoss of Tulsa, past president, and LeAnne McGill of Edmond, OBA Young Lawyers Division chairwoman, will take the oath to serve on the board for a one-year term.

The Oklahoma Bar Association has 17,600 members.